Traffic and alternate plates Ordinance Amalfi Coast

As of 06/15/2022 on the Amalfi Coast, mandatory alternate license plate traffic has been triggered.
Affected is the State Road 163 Amalfitana (approximately 55Km stretch), which includes the municipalities of Positano, Praiano, Furore, Conca dei Marini, Amalfi, Atrani, Ravello, Minori, Maiori, Cetara and Vietri sul Mare. Other roads in the area, such as SP2 Valico di Chiunzi Provincial Road in its two branches Ravello/Maiori and SR366 Agerolina Regional Road, are not affected by the measures.
There are no alternative roads to the SS163 to reach Amalfi by car.

Ordinance details

The regulations are contained in two ordinances:

– the first (No. 337/2019) following a study on the geometries of the coastline that, from a dynamic traffic perspective, verified the physical impossibility of crossing at many points on the road for vehicles coming from opposite directions.

Through the measure, therefore, restrictions were placed on the transit of vehicles, taking into account in particular: the technical characteristics of their encumbrance; the geometric conformation of the highway (with rocks facing the roadway); its tortuosity (series of repeated curves and bottlenecks); and the limited width of the roadway (in some cases less than 6 meters).

– the second (No. 340/2019) made necessary as a result of the Ordinances issued by almost all of the Municipal Administrations of the coastal area, which had provided, in the territories under their respective jurisdiction, restrictions on road traffic (including alternate plate transit on certain days of the year and for time slots), adopted following detailed Agreements on the subject of mobility signed, again in 2019, at the Prefecture of Salerno.

In detail, there is a ban on transit from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

– in days with an odd date for plates with an odd last digit number

– neigi days with even dates for license plates with even last numerical digits

Limitations are provided:

  • for Saturdays, Sundays and holidays

– June 1 to July 31

– October 1 to October 31

  • for every day

– August 1 to September 30

  • Throughout Holy Week including Easter Monday from March 25 to April 1
  • for all days from April 24 to May 2

The transit ban does not apply to:

  • residents in the 13 municipalities of the Amalfi Coast
  • Vehicles serving H-ticket holders as long as they are present on board the H-ticket
  • cab and n.c.c.
  • emergency vehicles and police force

In addition, by order no. 28 of 06/07/2022, additional exceptions were subsequently added:

  • Residents of the municipality of Agerola upon showing valid identification;
  • guests of hotel and non-hotel facilities, with regular reservations to be shown to the control bodies, limited to the necessary movements for arrival (check-in) and departure (check-out);
  • employees, non-residents of the Amalfi Coast, with a regular contract and working in public and private facilities in the coastal municipalities;
  • homeowners who are not residents of the Amalfi Coast, provided with a certificate from the municipality where the home is located.

The latter may obtain municipal authorization for motor vehicles in the name of one of the members of the household of the homeowner upon presentation of the following documentation:

– cadastral survey or IMU certificate;
– Self-certification stating that they are in good standing with the payment of municipal taxes;
– Self-certification of family status;
– Copy of the vehicle registration certificate.

The municipality where the dwelling is located, after verification of the requirements, issues authorization badges that are the same for all Amalfi Coast municipalities and valid for transit on the entire S.S. 163.

It is the obligation of everyone to observe and enforce this ordinance, the legal effectiveness of which is subject to the placement of appropriate road signs.

The local police are in charge of enforcing the measure, after making arrangements with other local police forces on the Amalfi Coast.

Anas Ordinance no. 337/2019

Supplementary ordinance of municipalities no. 28/2019

Anas Ordinance no. 340/2019